NYC DOB record · M01283416-I1

234 West 42 Street

234 West 42 Street, Manhattan, NY 10036

Alteration filing in Midtown-Times Square, Manhattan. The latest DOB status is loc issued.

DOB has issued a Letter of Completion, which records that the work in this filing is finished.

Recorded as completedAlteration filing

NYC Department of Buildings · w9ak-ipjd · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · Verify the source row

Open full map
newyorkdailyStreet Futures

NYC DOB RECORD · M01283416-I1

234 West 42 Street

Manhattan, NY 10036

Alteration filing · status dated Sep 8, 2026

Current record
Recorded as completed
Proposed scale
Not stated
Dwelling units
Not stated
Filing data portrait

A page-specific reading of the filing status, location and stated scale. Values are drawn from the cited DOB record.

Address record at a glance

What is filed at this address?

NYC DOB lists filing M01283416-I1 as a alteration filing at 234 West 42 Street, Manhattan, NY 10036. Its latest published status category is Recorded as completed, dated Sep 8, 2026. The published record does not state proposed stories or dwelling units.

A filing or approval does not by itself confirm that work is underway. Proposed details may change in later DOB records.
Filing type
Alteration filing
Latest status
Recorded as completed
Latest status date
Sep 8, 2026
Proposed scale
Not stated in this filing
Applicant of recordSee the 3 filings that name Newtec Engineering
FiledSep 23, 2025
Current recordRecorded as completed
Proposed scaleNot specified
Recorded cost$200,000

What the filing says

A public-record reading of the proposed work.

HVAC unit replacements on the 3rd and 4th Floor MERs. All existing ductwork to remain. No change in use egress and occupancy.

Street Futures classifies this record as a alteration filing based on the filing type and work flags published by the Department of Buildings. This classification helps organize the map; it does not add scope that is absent from the DOB record.

The lot this filing sits on

What is already here?

The lot holds a 15-story store building built in 1999, on a 54,060 sq ft lot.

Built
1999
Floors
15
Residential units
0
Building type
Store building
Land use
Mixed residential and commercial
Zoning district
C6-7
Lot area
54,060 sq ft
Building area
275,345 sq ft

Lot facts come from NYC Department of City Planning, Primary Land Use Tax Lot Output (PLUTO) (64uk-42ks), accessed Sep 10, 2026. They describe the tax lot, not this filing.

Violation record

Are there open violations here?

The Department of Buildings has 29 open notices on record for this building, out of 502 notices on file; the most recent was issued Jun 23, 2024.

  • Failure to submit

    Issued Jun 23, 2024 — FAILURE TO SUBMIT AN EER PER AD. CODE SEC. 28-308.4 IN 2023

  • Failure to

    Issued Feb 23, 2024 — FAILURE TO FILE BENCHMARKING REPORT OF ENERGY USE AS PER AD. CODE SEC. 28-309.4

  • Failure to post energy

    Issued Dec 1, 2023 — FAILURE TO DISPLAY ENERGY EFFICIENCY SCORE AND ENERGY EFFICIENCY GRADE AS PER ADCODE SEC. 28-309.12.3

  • 26 further open notices are on file. Open the source dataset for the full list.

A violation is a notice the Department of Buildings recorded against the building. It is not a judgment, and many concern paperwork rather than safety. Open means the agency has not recorded a resolution, which is not the same as the problem still existing. From NYC Department of Buildings, DOB Violations (3h2n-5cm9), accessed Sep 10, 2026.

Recorded timeline

Dates published by the Department of Buildings.

  1. Application filed

    DOB received filing M01283416-I1.

    01
  2. First permit date recorded

    DOB lists a first permit date. This does not by itself confirm current construction activity.

    02
  3. Current status updated

    The latest recorded filing status is “LOC Issued.”

    03
  4. Sign-off date recorded

    DOB lists a sign-off date for this filing.

    04

Scope and identifiers

The details used to match this filing.

Where a field reads “empty in the source”, the city published this filing without that value. It is not an omission on our side, and nothing here is inferred to fill a gap.

DOB filing number
M01283416-I1
BIN
1024665
BBL
1010130012
Review type
Professional Certification
Existing stories
Empty in the source
Proposed stories
Empty in the source
Existing dwelling units
0
Proposed dwelling units
0