Building record · BIN 1079064

55 John Street

55 John Street, Manhattan, NY 10038

A consolidated, filing-by-filing view of DOB records matched to this building identifier. The current snapshot links 1 independently sourced records, including 0 that are not recorded as completed, closed or withdrawn.

Open full map
newyorkdailyStreet Futures

BUILDING RECORD · BIN 1079064

55 John Street

Financial District-Battery Park City, Manhattan

A consolidated public-record view · updated Sep 4, 2026

DOB filings
1
Active-status
0
Recorded addresses
1
Building data portrait

A building-level summary of matched filings, active-status records and published identifiers.

Matched filings1
Open or active-status records0
First included filingSep 30, 2025
Latest recorded changeSep 4, 2026

The lot

What is already here?

The lot holds a 17-story condominium built in 1900, on a 7,160 sq ft lot.

  1. Floors 2–17Nothing on record
  2. Floor 1Street levelStreet level. The lot is recorded as commercial and office, so this floor is where the commercial space is.
  • Street levelCommercial and office
  • Above the southern skylineFrom about floor 58 — the tallest thing within 60 m to the south is 172.1 m
Drawn from the outline and roof height the Department of City Planning publishes for this building: 68.7 m over 17 floors, as the city counts them. 1 run of floors has something on record. The city publishes a roof height and a storey count for the lot, and nothing at all about any individual floor. What stands to the south is measured from the city’s own footprints and roof heights; it is a statement about the skyline, not a calculation of sunlight.
Built
1900
Floors
17
Residential units
0
Building type
Condominium
Land use
Commercial and office
Zoning district
C6-4
Lot area
7,160 sq ft
Building area
107,445 sq ft

The apartments

352 condominium apartments are assessed on this block, and the typical one is 974 sq ft (90 m²). They run from 47 to 318 m².

The city values the typical one at $322,981. That is the Department of Finance’s market valuation for tax, not an asking price and not a sale.

What it sold for

4 apartments on this tax block changed hands in the year the city last published, at a median of $1,450,000, from 550,000 to 1,594,811.

Recorded sale prices from the Department of Finance’s rolling file, covering the year to Aug 31, 2026. Transfers under $10,000 are left out: New York records deed transfers between relatives at a dollar, and those are not sales. No apartment number and no name is carried from either side.

Owner of record

135 WILLIAM STREET ASSOCIATES,

As the assessment roll records it. Only owners that read as a company are shown here; where the roll names an individual, nothing is published.

Lot facts come from NYC Department of City Planning, Primary Land Use Tax Lot Output (PLUTO) (64uk-42ks), accessed Sep 10, 2026. They describe the tax lot, not any single filing. When the rest of New York went up

Violation record

Are there open violations here?

The Department of Buildings has 3 open notices on record for this building, out of 49 notices on file; the most recent was issued Sep 19, 2023.

  • Construction

    Issued Sep 19, 2023 — FAILURE TO MAINTAIN EXTERIOR BLDG FACADE& APPURT.@TIME OF INSPECTION OBSERVED SPALLING TERRA-COTTA ON EXPO#2(WEST)REMEDY:IMMED.TAKE&PROVIDE SAFETY MEASURES TO SECURE&PROTECT THE PUBLIC&INSTALL PUBLIC PROTECTION @EXPO#2(WEST)(DUTCH ST)REMEDY:ADDITIIONALY REMOVE/SECURE ANY&ALL LOOSE /HANGING MATERIAL MAKE IMMED.REPAIRS UNDER SUPERV.OF LIC.PROFESSIONAL

  • No report and / or late filing (facade)

    Issued Feb 22, 2023 — FAILED TO FILE FISP CYCLE 9B TECHNICAL REPORT BY 2/21/2023

  • Failure to post energy

    Issued Dec 1, 2022 — FAILURE TO DISPLAY ENERGY EFFICIENCY SCORE AND ENERGY EFFICIENCY GRADE AS PER ADCODE SEC. 28-309.12.3

Open means the agency has not recorded a resolution, which is not the same as the problem still existing. What a violation is, and what it is not. From NYC Department of Buildings, DOB Violations (3h2n-5cm9), accessed Sep 14, 2026.

What is recorded here

Multiple filings, one stable building identifier.

New York City's Building Identification Number helps connect filings that may use different application numbers or describe different scopes of work. The records below are grouped because they publish BIN 1079064. They should not be read as a single construction project unless the underlying filings say so.

The matched set includes 1 alteration filing. Its latest status categories are 1 recorded as completed. Each filing page preserves its own status, dates, scope and source identifier.

First included filing
Sep 30, 2025
Latest recorded change
Sep 4, 2026
Highest proposed story count
Not stated
Highest proposed unit count
Not stated

Highest recorded values may come from different filings and must not be combined into one proposed project. Open the individual filings below for their exact scope. Values outside the publication's conservative data-quality bounds are withheld pending source review.

Address alerts

Watch this address.

Get an email when NewYorkDaily detects a material change in the public DOB records associated with 55 John Street.

Confirmation is required. Alerts describe source-data changes, not confirmed construction activity. Unsubscribe at any time. Privacy

Recorded history

What has happened at this address?

Every dated event the city has published for this building, from all 1 matched filings, in the order it was recorded. A date marks what entered the public record, not what happened on site.

  1. Alteration filed

    Installation of temporary heavy duty sidewalk shed as per plans. no change in use, egress or occupancy. sidewalk shed shall comply with chapter #33 of 2022 the NYC building code. live load 300psf. Filing M01295237-I1.

    01
  2. Permit recorded for alteration

    DOB lists a first permit date for M01295237-I1. That is not by itself confirmation of activity on site.

    02
  3. Alteration signed off

    DOB recorded a sign-off for M01295237-I1.

    03
  4. Alteration now completed

    The latest status recorded for M01295237-I1 is “LOC Issued.”

    04