NYC DOB record · M01295237-I1

55 John Street

55 John Street, Manhattan, NY 10038

Alteration filing in Financial District-Battery Park City, Manhattan. The latest DOB status is loc issued.

DOB has issued a Letter of Completion, which records that the work in this filing is finished.

Recorded as completedAlteration filing

NYC Department of Buildings · w9ak-ipjd · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · Verify the source row

Open full map
newyorkdailyStreet Futures

NYC DOB RECORD · M01295237-I1

55 John Street

Manhattan, NY 10038

Alteration filing · status dated Sep 4, 2026

Current record
Recorded as completed
Proposed scale
Not stated
Dwelling units
Not stated
Filing data portrait

A page-specific reading of the filing status, location and stated scale. Values are drawn from the cited DOB record.

Address record at a glance

What is filed at this address?

NYC DOB lists filing M01295237-I1 as a alteration filing at 55 John Street, Manhattan, NY 10038. Its latest published status category is Recorded as completed, dated Sep 4, 2026. The published record does not state proposed stories or dwelling units.

A filing or approval does not by itself confirm that work is underway. Proposed details may change in later DOB records.
Filing type
Alteration filing
Latest status
Recorded as completed
Latest status date
Sep 4, 2026
Proposed scale
Not stated in this filing
Applicant of recordSee the 1041 filings that name Ashraf Corp
FiledSep 30, 2025
Current recordRecorded as completed
Proposed scaleNot specified
Recorded cost$1,000

What the filing says

A public-record reading of the proposed work.

Installation of temporary heavy duty sidewalk shed as per plans. no change in use, egress or occupancy. sidewalk shed shall comply with chapter #33 of 2022 the NYC building code. live load 300psf.

Street Futures classifies this record as a alteration filing based on the filing type and work flags published by the Department of Buildings. This classification helps organize the map; it does not add scope that is absent from the DOB record.

The lot this filing sits on

What is already here?

The lot holds a 17-story condominium built in 1900, on a 7,160 sq ft lot.

Built
1900
Floors
17
Residential units
0
Building type
Condominium
Land use
Commercial and office
Zoning district
C6-4
Lot area
7,160 sq ft
Building area
107,445 sq ft

Lot facts come from NYC Department of City Planning, Primary Land Use Tax Lot Output (PLUTO) (64uk-42ks), accessed Sep 10, 2026. They describe the tax lot, not this filing.

Violation record

Are there open violations here?

The Department of Buildings has 3 open notices on record for this building, out of 49 notices on file; the most recent was issued Sep 19, 2023.

  • Construction

    Issued Sep 19, 2023 — FAILURE TO MAINTAIN EXTERIOR BLDG FACADE& APPURT.@TIME OF INSPECTION OBSERVED SPALLING TERRA-COTTA ON EXPO#2(WEST)REMEDY:IMMED.TAKE&PROVIDE SAFETY MEASURES TO SECURE&PROTECT THE PUBLIC&INSTALL PUBLIC PROTECTION @EXPO#2(WEST)(DUTCH ST)REMEDY:ADDITIIONALY REMOVE/SECURE ANY&ALL LOOSE /HANGING MATERIAL MAKE IMMED.REPAIRS UNDER SUPERV.OF LIC.PROFESSIONAL

  • No report and / or late filing (facade)

    Issued Feb 22, 2023 — FAILED TO FILE FISP CYCLE 9B TECHNICAL REPORT BY 2/21/2023

  • Failure to post energy

    Issued Dec 1, 2022 — FAILURE TO DISPLAY ENERGY EFFICIENCY SCORE AND ENERGY EFFICIENCY GRADE AS PER ADCODE SEC. 28-309.12.3

A violation is a notice the Department of Buildings recorded against the building. It is not a judgment, and many concern paperwork rather than safety. Open means the agency has not recorded a resolution, which is not the same as the problem still existing. From NYC Department of Buildings, DOB Violations (3h2n-5cm9), accessed Sep 14, 2026.

Recorded timeline

Dates published by the Department of Buildings.

  1. Application filed

    DOB received filing M01295237-I1.

    01
  2. First permit date recorded

    DOB lists a first permit date. This does not by itself confirm current construction activity.

    02
  3. Current status updated

    The latest recorded filing status is “LOC Issued.”

    03
  4. Sign-off date recorded

    DOB lists a sign-off date for this filing.

    04

Scope and identifiers

The details used to match this filing.

Where a field reads “empty in the source”, the city published this filing without that value. It is not an omission on our side, and nothing here is inferred to fill a gap.

DOB filing number
M01295237-I1
BIN
1079064
BBL
1000787511
Review type
Professional Certification
Existing stories
Empty in the source
Proposed stories
Empty in the source
Existing dwelling units
0
Proposed dwelling units
0